Long since I’ve been writing. Maybe I should rethink Sunday & Monday as my writing day. They both are exhaustive days. I have 4 subjects to teach for each.

But alhamdulillah, I have Tuesday. With only 2 subjects, I can finish my job (marking books, lesson plans etc) early, and then… read!

Yeah, one of my reason to miss my university days at Mu’tah, is reading. I got lots of time to ‘indulge’ myself with a book, cup of cappuccino and some chocolate bars. The only thing that may stop me, is only myself. The laziness. Urgh.

But now, entering my life’s new phase of working (with 2 jobs!), I crave for time.

So, every window of time that I get, I’ll use it to read. Anything. Usually I’ll bring a book or two wherever I go. Also, I always have my Pocket app ready if I want to read articles or if I forgot my books.

I believe that we can’t wait anymore to have a nice time to read, instead we need to create it. Make useful and utilize every minute that we can.

Sh. Solah Abd. Fattah Al-Khalidi hfz. in his foreword for his book “Khittah Al-Barraqah, lizin Nafsi Tawwaqah” discussed the meaning of Al-Asr (العصر) in Surah Al-Asr. We translated it as ‘Time’. In Arabic, it has the same root as ‘Asir or juice (عصير). And like a fruit that need to be squeezed to get every single drop of juice from it, it also goes with our precious time.

Our 24 hours time, everyday, must be ‘squeezed’ as much as we can, so that we can get the benefit from every single second of it. By acting, not by giving ourselves excuses. May Allah ease, insya-Allah.

وَالْعَصْرِ

CONSIDER the flight of time!

إِنَّ الْإِنسَانَ لَفِي خُسْرٍ

Verily, man is bound to lose himself

إِلَّا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا وَعَمِلُوا الصَّالِحَاتِ وَتَوَاصَوْا بِالْحَقِّ وَتَوَاصَوْا بِالصَّبْرِ

unless he be of those who attain to faith, and do good works, and enjoin upon one another the keeping to truth, and enjoin upon one another patience in adversity.

